Archive | The Second Annual Game Developers Choice Online Awards

Congratulations to all recipients and nominees! The recipients were announced at a ceremony during the 2011 Game Developers Conference Online.


Click here to watch the 2nd annual Game Developers Choice Online Awards ceremony

2011 Special Awards Recipients

These two special honors, selected by the Game Developers Choice Online Awards advisory committee, will be presented at the ceremony.

Online Game Legend Award

The Online Game Legend Award recognizes the career and achievements of one particular creator who has made an indelible impact on the craft of online game development.


Kelton Flinn began writing multiplayer games while a college student, competing then collaborating with John Taylor. Together with Taylor, he co-founded the seminal online game company Kesmai Corporation in 1982. Flinn's roles at Kesmai spanned programming, infrastructure development, and CTO. Flinn is best known for his work on the first commercial graphical client-server online game, Air Warrior. Since 2002, Flinn has been with Video Gaming Technologies (VGT), a leader in the Indian gaming market in Oklahoma.


John Taylor co-founded Kesmai Corporation in 1982 and served as its CEO until 1995. During his tenure, he led the company to be the top provider of online games for CompuServe and America Online producing such games as Mega Wars III, Island of Kesmai, Harpoon Online, Air Warrior and Multiplayer BattleTech. Taylor is currently the CEO of Castle Hill Holdings where he mananges intellectual investments in the gaming business.

GDC Online Awards Hall of Fame

The GDC Online Awards Hall of Fame recognizes a specific online game that has resulted in the long-term advancement of the medium, pioneering major shifts in online game development and games as a whole.


EverQuest (Sony Online Entertainment)

Receving the of Hall of Fame Award for 2011 is Sony Online Entertainment's 3D fantasy-themed MMO title, EverQuest. Launched in March 1999, EverQuest is one of the most important early 3D MMO titles which introduced the concept of guilds and raiding within an online world.

Now in its twelth year of continuous operation, EverQuest has seen millions of gamers flock to its fantasy MMO universe and has since hosted 17 expansion packs, and multiple spinoff console titles, sequels, novelizations and a board game. EverQuest has seen such enduring popularity among fans that it still runs independently alongside its sequel, EverQuest II.

2011 Winners and Nominees

In addition to the Online Game Legend Award and the GDC Online Awards Hall of Fame, Choice Online Awards are given in the following categories. These particular categories will be both nominated and voted on by the development community.

Best Online Game Design

The Best Online Game Design Award honors the overall excellence of design in an online game that launched in public beta or full version in the year to May 2010. This category recognizes the best social-specific gameplay mechanics, quest design, and other major game design elements.

Best Online Visual Arts

The Best Online Visual Arts Award recognizes the overall excellence of visual art in online games including, but not limited to, character and animation design, interface design, and 2D or 3D art creation and direction of all kinds.

Best Community Relations

The Best Community Relations Award honors the currently operating online game that provides the highest quality community feedback and experience, including customer support, forum moderation and leadership, weblog and information updates, real-life events, and other community outreach.

Best Online Technology

The Best Online Technology Award recognizes the overall excellence of technology in an online game. This includes excellence in complexity of network infrastructure, persistent world coding, graphics technology, artificial intelligence, or any other elements.

Best Social Network Game

The Best Social Network Game Award recognizes the best game that launched on a social network, such as Facebook or MySpace, honoring the most outstanding title in terms of overall depth, execution and quality in the space.

Best Audio for an Online Game

The Best Audio for an Online Game Award recognizes the overall excellence of audio in an online game including sound effects, musical composition, and overall sound design for an online title.

Best New Online Game

The Best New Online Game Award recognizes excellence in any online-specific game, including MMOs, free to play titles and social network games.

Best Live Game

The Best Live Game Award recognizes the best currently-operating online game -- distinguishing itself by releasing exceptional new content through expansion packs, patches, or other updates in the 12 months to May 2011, as well as a vibrant player community, high-quality community management and network operation during that period.

Online Innovation Award

New for 2011, the Online Innovation Award honors one particular online game that shows key aspects of innovation in the fast-expanding online games space - a title that pushes the game design and social boundaries of how we play video games online against others.

Audience Award

The Audience Award honors the favorite game of the worldwide online game community. Members of the public will be able to vote on their favorite currently operating online game, with options from the Game Developers Choice Online finalists and beyond.

(back to top)